Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology Udaipur


Rajasthan’s economy has depended mainly on agriculture since its formation in 1949.  Recognizing the importance of agricultural growth and development in assuring livelihood security of its population, the government gave high priority to developing agriculture education, research and extension in the State. The first Agriculture College was SKN College of Agriculture at Jobner, established in the State and later on Rajasthan College of Agriculture at Udaipur was established in 1955.

The state being a big one and also having different agro climatic regions it was felt necessary to address the problems of arid agriculture and semiarid agriculture separately. Therefore, State Government created Agricultural University at Udaipur in 1999 which was named as “Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology”, after the great freedom fighter and patriot Maharana Pratap.

The University jurisdiction covers 11 districts of south and south-east Rajasthan which have predominantly sub-humid climate with cropping pattern quite different from the rest of the State. With the establishment of Agricultural University in 1999, it inherited the well established colleges of Rajasthan College of Agriculture, College of Technology and Engineering, College of Home Science and College of Dairy and Food Science Technology. Recognizing the contribution horticulture and forestry could play in economic empowerment, nutritional security and sustainability of agriculture, College of Horticulture and Forestry was established at Jhalawar in 2004

Courses Offered

Rajasthan College of Agriculture

  1. B.Sc.(Ag.) Hons.
  2. M.Sc. (Ag.)
  3. Ph.D. (by course work)

College of Dairy & Food Science Technology

  1. B.Tech. Dairy Technology
  2. B.Tech  Food Technology

College of Technology and Engineering
B.E. (Ag.).

  1. Computer Science and Engineering
  2. Mechanical Engineering
  3. Electrical Engineering
  4. Mining Engineering.
  5. Electronics and Communication Engineering.

Master’s programme (M. E. and Ph. D. Degree) in

      • Processing and Food Engineering
      • Soil and Water Conservation Engineering
      • Farm Machinery and Power Engineering
      • Renewable Energy Sources
      • Irrigation Water Management.

College of Fisheries

College of Home Science

      1. B.Sc. (H.Sc.) Hons.
      2. M.Sc. H.Sc.
      3. Ph.D. (by course work)
      4. PG Diploma

College of Horticulture & Forestry, Jhalawar

      1. B.Sc. Horticulture
      2. M.Sc. Horticulture
      3. B.Sc. Forestry

Admission Process

The admissions in all the degree courses are done through state level centralized Pre-Engineering Test.For latest information regarding Courses duration ,eligibility, and fee structure visit University/college website


Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture & Technology

P. O. Box No 171,
University Campus,
Udaipur 313 001

Tel : 0294-2471101, 2427691, 2471302
Fax : 0294-2470682
Email : [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]
Website :

VC: Dr S L Mehta
Reg: Shri H M Chanalia