List of Entrance exams conducted by IITs

The Indian Institutes of Technology is a group of autonomous public engineering and management institutes of India which are governed by the Institutes of Technology Act, 1961.

The Institutes of Technology Act, 1961 lists sixteen institutes located at Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Delhi, Gandhinagar, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Indore, Jodhpur, Kanpur, Kharagpur, Mandi, Mumbai, Patna, Ropar, Roorkee, and Varanasi. Each IIT is an autonomous institution, linked to the others through a common IIT council, which oversees their administration.


Also, ReadIITs Colleges Accepting JEE Advanced Score


The IITs have a common admission process for undergraduate admissions called the IIT-JEE, which was replaced by Joint Entrance Examination in 2013. The post-graduate level program that awards M.Tech degree in engineering is administered by the older IITs (Kharagpur, Bombay, Madras, Kanpur, Delhi, Roorkee, Varanasi, Guwahati) and is done on the basis of Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE).

In addition to B.Tech and M.Tech programs IITs also award other graduate degrees such as M.Sc in Engineering, Maths, Physics and Chemistry, MBA, Ph.D., etc.; admission to which is done through:

  1. Joint Admission Test for Masters (JAM),
  2. Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED)
  3. Humanities and Social Sciences Entrance Exam (HSEE).


Let’s go through the details for each of the entrance exam conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology:


Joint Entrance Examination Advanced – JEE Advanced

The Joint Entrance Examination (JEE-Advanced) is an all-India examination administered and conducted in seven IIT zones across the country by the Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) for admission to Bachelor’s, Integrated Master’s and Dual Degree programs in the sixteen IITs.

  • IIT Bhubaneswar
  • IIT Bombay
  • IIT Delhi
  • IIT Gandhinagar
  • IIT Guwahati
  • IIT Hyderabad
  • IIT Indore
  • IIT Jodhpur
  • IIT Kanpur
  • IIT Kharagpur
  • IIT Chennai
  • IIT Mandi
  • IIT Patna
  • IIT Roorkee
  • IIT Ropar
  • IIT Varanasi
  • Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad


Also Check  – Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar M.Tech Admission

All the candidates aspiring to take admission in the undergraduate programs at IITs and ISM Dhanbad have to clear the Paper-1 of JEE (Main which is conducted by the JEE Apex Board during the month of April.


Also Read NTA JEE Main Exam Pattern


GATE – Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering

Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) is an all India examination conducted for various undergraduate subjects in engineering and technology at an all India level for admission to postgraduate engineering programs (i.e. M.E., M.Tech, direct Ph.D.) in Indian higher education institutes with financial assistance provided by MHRD and other Govt agencies.

GATE is conducted jointly by the Indian Institute of Science and the following IITs

  • IIT Bombay
  • IIT Delhi
  • IIT Kanpur
  • IIT Kharagpur
  • IIT Madras
  • IIT Roorkee


on behalf of the National Coordination Board-GATE, Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), Government of India. The GATE score of a candidate reflects a relative performance level in a particular paper in the exam across several years.


JAM – Joint Admission Test for M.Sc (JAM)

JAM Exam is conducted for admission to M.Sc (Two-Year), Joint M.Sc – PhD, M.Sc – PhD Dual Degree, M.Sc – M.Tech and other Post-Bachelor Degree Programs at Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) & IISc

The Indian Institute of Science Bangalore (IISc) and Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) conduct the Joint Admission Test for M.Sc (JAM) for admission to Integrated Ph.D Degree Programmes at IISc Bangalore and M.Sc (Two Years), Joint M.Sc.-Ph.D, M.Sc.-Ph.D Dual Degree, M.Sc – M.Tech., M.Sc -M.S. (Research)/PhD Dual Degree and other Post-Bachelor’s Degree Programmes at IITs. Qualified students later have to appear for an interview for admission to the above-mentioned programs.


Also, Read  – IIT JAM – IIT Joint Admission Test for MSc Admission 


CEED – Common Entrance Examination for Design

Common Entrance Examination for Design (CEED) is a qualifying examination for admission to Master of Design (M.Des) Programs at IISc Bangalore, IIT Bombay, IIT Delhi, IIT Guwahati, and IIT Kanpur and Ph.D Programs in Design in some Institutes, for the Academic year 2015 The objective of CEED is to assess the candidates’ aptitude for design involving visual perception ability, drawing skills, logical reasoning, creativity and communication skills.

CEED qualified students are eligible for

(a) Master of Design Programmes IISc Bangalore:

  1. M.Des in Product Design and Engineering – IIT Bombay
  2. M.Des in Industrial Design, Visual Communication, Animation, Interaction Design, Mobility and Vehicle Design IIT Delhi
  3. M.Des in Industrial Design IIT Guwahati
  4. M.Des in Design IIT Kanpur
  5. M.Des in Industrial Design – GATE qualified candidates will also be considered for admission to these programs

(b) Ph.D Programmes in Design (IISc Bangalore, IIT Bombay) Details of these programs may be obtained from the respective websites


HSEE – Humanities and Social Sciences Entrance Exam

The Humanities and Social Sciences Entrance Exam (HSEE) is conducted for admission to the Five-year Integrated Master of Arts (M.A) at IIT Madras. The program encourages students to engage in critical thinking and research on ideas, people, society, and the human condition.

HSEE is intended to admit students to this program in two streams; Integrated M.A. in Development Studies and Integrated M.A. in English Studies.


IIT UCEED eligibility, application, dates

Admissions to the Bachelor of Design (B.Des) Programmes at IIT Bombay, IIT Guwahati and IIITDM Jabalpur are through the Undergraduate Common Entrance Examination for Design (UCEED) .Candidates seeking admission to the Bachelor Degree programme in Design (B. Des.) at Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB), Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati (IITG) and Indian Institute of Information Technology Design and Manufacturing Jabalpur (IIITDMJ) must appear in UCEED 2020.