The Full form of UAE is United Arab Emirates. The UAE is sometimes simply called the Emirates, a country in Western Asia at the northeast end of the Arabian Peninsula on the Persian Gulf, bordering Saudi Arabia to the south and west and Oman to the east, as well as sharing maritime borders with Iran to the north and Qatar to the west.

The United Arab Emirates is a federation of seven emirates consisting of Abu Dhabi (which serves as the capital), Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Ajman, Dubai, Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain. Their boundaries are complex, with numerous enclaves within the various emirates. Each emirate is governed by a ruler; together, they jointly form the Federal Supreme Council. One of the rulers serves as the President of the United Arab Emirates. In 2013, the UAE’s population was 9.2 million, of which 7.8 million are expatriates and 1.4 million are Emirati citizens.

The official religion of the UAE is Islam and the official language is Arabic. The UAE’s oil reserves are the 7th-largest in the world while its natural gas reserves are the world’s 17th-largest. Sheikh Zayed, a ruler of Abu Dhabi and the first President of the UAE, oversaw the development of the Emirates and steered oil revenues into education, healthcare, and infrastructure.