The Full form of INC is Indian National Congress, also called as the Congress Party or simply Congress. It is one of the political parties in India which was founded in 1885 and was also the first modern nationalist movement to emerge in the British Empire in India during the Independence. It was under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi especially after 1920. INC played a very important role in achieving independence from Great Britain in 1947. After the independence, Congress Party formed the union government of India, and many state governments of India. It is India’s dominant political party.

As of 2019, it has won majority on seven occasions in the 17 general elections since the independence, ruling the central government for more than 54 years. India has seen six Congress Prime Ministers, the first being Jawaharlal Nehru (1947–1964), and the most recent Manmohan Singh (2004–2014). Although it did not do well in the last two general elections in India in 2014 and 2019, it remains one of two major, nationwide, political parties in India, along with the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Sonia Gandhi, the leader of the party during the period, has served the longest term as the president of the party.