Entrance Exam

Your No1 source for Latest Entrance Exams, Admission info

Scholarships > India > National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018

National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018

National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS) Examination 2018

National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018 – Online applications are invited from the Department of School Education & Literacy for National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018-19


  • The objective is to award scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to arrest their drop out at class VIII and encourage them to continue the study at secondary stage


Scholarship Details
  • Organisation: Department of School Education & Literacy
  • Portal Name: National Scholarship Portal
  • Scholarship Name: NMMSS 2018-19 National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme


Also See : Scholarships 2018

Scholarship Amount
  • One lakh scholarships @ Rs.6000/- per annum (Rs.500/- per month) are awarded to selected students of class IX every year and their continuation/renewal in classes X to XII for study in State Government, Government-aided and Local body schools under the scheme


Eligibility Criteria

  • Students whose parental income from all sources is not more than Rs.150000/- per annum are eligible to avail the scholarships
  • The students shall have minimum of 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class VII examination (Relaxable by 5% for SC/ST)


  • Students of NVS, KVS, Sainik schools and private schools are not entitled for the scholarships


Selection Process

  • The selection of students for award of scholarships under the scheme is made through an examination conducted by the State Governments
  • Each State/UT conducts its own test for selection of students for the award of the National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship. The State Level Exam consists of the following two tests
  • Mental Ability Test (MAT)
  • Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)
  • The students must pass both the tests i.e. MAT and SAT with at least 40% marks in each. For the reserved category, this cut off will be 32% marks


Application form

  • Application Forms can be downloaded from the website https://scholarships.gov.in
  • The scheme is implemented through National Scholarship Portal (NSP). Just follow the below steps to apply for the National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme 2018-19
  • Step 1: Go to the official website of National Scholarship Portal through the URL provided above
  • Step 2: Then Select Central Schemes tab and Click on Department of School Education & Literacy link in the drop-down list
  • Step 3: After that Click Apply link in the National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship
  • Scholarships are disbursed by the State Bank of India directly by electronic transfer into the accounts of students through Public Financial Management System (PFMS)
  • For continuing the scholarship in class X and XII, the awardees should get clear promotion from class IX to class X and from class XI to class XII in the first attempt with 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST)


Important Dates

    • The Last Date for Submission of Applications on Portal is 31st October 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *