MCA Admission Procedure in NITs through NIMCET

National Institute(s) of Technology MCA Common Entrance Test

The details of the forthcoming edition of the NIMCET – a national level test held by NITs for admission into their MCA program – is coming out shortly. The exam serves as a gateway to MCA courses in several NITs including the ones at Agartala, Allahabad, Bhopal, Calicut, Durgapur, Jamshedpur, Kurukshetra, Raipur, Surathkal, Tiruchirappalli and Warangal.
Here is a rundown of some of the most important aspects that you need to before applying for NIMCET 2021. 

Check out the Eligibility criteria

All Indian nationals who secured at least 60 per cent marks in aggregate of 6.5 CGPA or more on a 10-point scale in their graduation*, are eligible to apply for NIMCET 2021. For SC and ST candidates, the minimum eligibility will be scaled down to 55 per cent marks or 6.0 CGPA on a 10 point scale.

* Candidates must complete their graduation as (from a recognized university)

1) BSc/ BSc (Hons)/ BCA/ BIT or minimum three years full time, or

2) B.Tech/ BE or equivalent

Candidates who are going to appear in their final semester/year of BSc/ BSc (Hons)/ BCA/ BIT or minimum three years full time or  B.Tech/ BE or equivalent, are also eligible to apply. However, such candidates will required furnishing proof (certificate issued by the head of institution the candidate is studying) that he or she is appearing for the final semester/year exam by a pre-specified date. Failing to produce the aforementioned document(s) will result in the candidate’s right to admission being cancelled.

Students who completed their graduation are eligible to apply only if their programs have the the approval of UGC/AICTE and Distance Education Council (DEC) of Government of India.

Admission procedure for MCA courses in NITs through NIMCET

NIMCET application is a detailed application form, designed exclusively for the entrance exam and for admission into MCA at any of the NITs that offer MCA program. Candidates are not required to apply in individual NITs separately.

The admission into MCA programs in all of the nine participating NITs will be solely based on candidates’ performance in the NIMCET 2021. The results will be declared through a Single Window

Centralized Counseling/Seat Allotment at respective NITs. If everything goes according to plan, the results of the exam are likely to be announced sometime in the month of June or July.

Candidates, after being allotted seat in a particular NIT, will not be allowed to seek admission in another NIT. The general eligibility criterion to appear in NIMCET will be the same as those applicable for NITs; however, admission criterion as well as fees structure may vary in some NITs.

Individual score cards won’t be sent to the candidates. Instead, the list of candidates who are to be called for seat allotment and counselling (based on NIMCET rank) shall be made available through the websites of all participating NITs that offer MCA program.

Also See
NIMCET 2021 Notification

NIMCET 2021 Exam Pattern

Eligibility Criteria for NIMCET 2021

NIMCET 2021 Qualifying Criteria for Allotment of Rank

All you need to know about NIMCET 2021

NIMCET MCA Entrance Exam Syllabus