CLAT 2017 (Common Law Admission Test) is the most coveted law entrance exam for admissions to undergraduate and postgraduate law programmes in National Law Universities. CLAT is conducted every year by one of the 18 national law universities on a rotational basis. If you are planning to appear in the CLAT 2017 then the information given in this article will be most useful for you.
Here in this article, we will discuss ten things you need to know about CLAT 2017.

  1. Common Law Admission Test (CLAT) is a national level entrance examination for admission to undergraduate and postgraduate law programmes in the National law universities (NLUs).  Every year the responsibility is given to one of the NLU’s to conduct the CLAT.

  2. This year the CLAT 2017 will be conducted by the Chanakya National Law University, Patna. Last year CLAT was conducted by the Rajiv Gandhi National Law University of Law, Punjab. CLAT is conducted every year by one of the 17 national law universities on a rotational basis.

  3. To be eligible for admission to undergraduate law programmes the candidate should be a 12th class pass out with a minimum of 45% aggregate marks. SC/ST candidates must have secured at least 40% marks in 10+2. Only the applicants under 20 years of age (22 years for SC/ST) are eligible for admission to UG law programmes.

  4. To be eligible for admission to two-year LL.M. Degree Course, you should have passed the LL.B. / B.L. or an equivalent degree from a recognized University with minimum 55% aggregate marks. SC/ST and PWD candidates must have secured at least 50% marks in LL.B/BL or an equivalent degree.

  5. CLAT is an objective type computer-based test that consists of multiple choice questions. For UG law courses there are 200 multiple choice questions (1 mark each) and 2 hours time. For PG law courses exam there are 150 questions and 2 hours of time. Both UG and PG entrance test have negative marking i.e. 1/4 mark is deducted for every wrong answer.

  6. To apply for CLAT 2017, you must visit the official website and click on the link for “online application form” and enter the required details. After filling the personal details you must enter your education details and upload the images and scanned copy of documents. After that, you need to select the city for exam centre. Candidates can select 3 cities for examination centre. In the next step, you pay the application fee through the payment mode of your choice and print the confirmation page.

  7. The syllabus of the CLAT exam includes General Knowledge and Current Affairs, Legal Aptitude, Elementary Mathematics and Constitutional Law, etc. You can download the syllabus of CLAT 2017 from the official website.

  8. This year the registrations for CLAT 2017 have already been started from January 1 and the last date to apply is March 31. CLAT will be conducted online across various examination centres on May 14, 2017.

  9. There are some major changes made by the Chanakya National Law University, Patna for CLAT 2017. First is that the upper age limit for appearing in CLAT has been set as 20 years as on 01st July 2017. Secondly, only three rounds of counseling will be held this year.

  10. The CLAT results are declared after the entrance test in the month of May on the official website. The All India merit list is declared with the result and the counseling is held in the month of June. The allotment of seats will be done on the basis of CLAT 2017 rank.

From this year, Maharashtra National Law University (MNLU), Nagpur has been added to the list of 18 NLUs. CLAT 2017 will be conducted by the Chanakya National Law University, Patna on May 14, 2017. For more information on CLAT 2017 you can visit our link CLAT 2017 Notification


List of 18 participating NLUs in CLAT 2017: 

1) National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)


2) National Academy of Legal Study & Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)

3) National Law Institute University, Bhopal (NLIU)

4) The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)

5) National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)

6) Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)

7) Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)

8) Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)

9) Rajiv Gandhi National Law University, Patiala (RGNUL)

10) Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)

11) National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)

12) National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)

13) National University of Study & Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)

14) National Law University & Judicial Academy, Assam, Guwahati (NLUJAA)

15) Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)

16) Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)

17) Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU)

18) Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur (MNLU)

For any query,  candidates are requested to check the official website  .
Click here or more Career news.
Also See : Law Entrance
For more details, follow SuccessCDs ( Facebook, Google Plus, Twitter ) or you can write to us at [email protected]