Bachelor of Legislative Laws – LLB Course, Syllabus

What is LLB Course? What are LLB Subjects and what is the syllabus for LLB Course

Bachelor of Legislative Laws (LLB) Course – Bachelor of Legislative Laws is the full form of LLB Course is an undergraduate degree which deals with the study of various types of laws such as Labour Law, Family Law, Criminal Law, Human Rights, International Law, etc. It is the first professional degree in law and forms the foundation for a promising career in law and legal services.

Candidates can opt for any one of the 2 LLB courses – 

  1. 3 years LLB course for Graduates, or
  2. 5 years integrated law course (BA LLB /BSc LLB /BBA LLB) for Undergraduates.

Admission to LLB Course is done either on the basis of marks obtained by candidates in the qualifying degree or through an entrance exam.

LLB Course Highlights

  • Degree: Bachelors
  • Full Form: Bachelor of Legislative Laws
  • Duration: 3 years for Graduates and 5 years for Undergraduates
  • Minimum Requirement: Graduation in any discipline for 3-year LLB course and 10+2 for 5 years integrated  course (BA LLB /BSc LLB /BBA LLB) 
  • Course Fees:  INR 22,000 – 2 Lakh per annum
  • Average Salary offered:  INR 3 L – 10 Lakh per annum
  • Employment Roles: Attorney General, District & Sessions Judge, Advocate, Public Prosecutor, Solicitor, Legal Advisor, Legal Manager, Associate Attorney, Legal Counsel, etc.

LLB Subjects

The Bachelor of Laws (LLB) subjects do not vary much at different universities and remain the same across different colleges. The subjects of study in an LLB degree course are as follows-

  • English (Communication)
  • Law of torts including Consumer Protection Laws and M. V. Act
  • Legal Methods
  • Principles of Economics
  • Political Science: An Introduction
  • Sociology: An Introduction
  • Constitutional Law 
  • Jurisprudence
  • Criminal law 
  • Economic Development and Policy
  • Law in Changing Society: Contemporary Issues and Prospects
  • Civil Procedure Code and Limitation Act
  • Family Law 
  • Contract Law 
  • Corporate Law 
  • Law of Evidence
  • Drafting Skills (Law of Pleadings in Civil Matters)
  • Property Law
  • Administrative Law
  • Labour and Industrial Law 
  • Law of Taxation
  • Merger and Acquisitions
  • Copyright Law, Prospects and Protection
  • Law on Education
  • Financial Market Regulation
  • Penology and Victimology
  • Law of Trademarks, Design, and Practice

LLB Course Specializations

LLB UG degree offered a list of specializations as follows: 

  • Civil Law
  • Tax Law
  • Criminal Law
  • International Law
  • Corporate Law
  • Real Estate Law
  • Labour Law
  • Patent Law
  • Media Law
  • Competition Law
  • Intellectual Property Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions Law
  • Constitutional Law
  • Environmental Law

LLB Course Syllabus

Most of the College in India follows the same LLB course syllabus as mentioned below.

LLB Syllabus – Year I 

Semester I (June / October)

  • Labour Law
  • Family Law I
  • Criminal law
  • Optional Papers (Any One)
  • Contract           
  • Trust
  • Women & Law
  • Criminology
  • International Economics Law

Semester II (November / April)

  • Family Laws II
  • Law of Tort & Consumer Protection Act
  • Constitutional Law
  • Professional Ethics

 LLB Syllabus – Year II 

Semester III (June / October)

  • Law of Evidence
  • Arbitration, Conciliation & Alternative
  • Human Rights & International Law
  • Environmental Law

 Semester IV (November / April)

  • Property Law including the transfer of Property Act
  • Jurisprudence
  • Practical Training – Legal Aid
  • Optional Papers (Anyone)
  • Comparative Law
  • Law of Insurance
  • conflict of Laws
  • Intellectual Property Law
  • Law of Contract II

LLB Syllabus – Year III

Semester V (June / October)

  • Civil Procedure Code (CPC)
  • Interpretation of Statutes
  • Legal Writing
  • Land Laws including ceiling and other local laws
  • Administrative Law

Semester VI (November / April)

  • Code of Criminal Procedure
  • Company Law
  • Practical Training – Moot Court
  • Practical Training II – Drafting
  • Optional Papers (Anyone of the following)
  • Investment & Securities Law
  • Law of Taxation
  • co-operative Law
  • Banking Law including Negotiable Instruments Act

LLB Entrance Exams

Here is a list of the Top Law Entrance Exams conducted by the top law colleges in India for admission to a degree course in law

  • Common-Law Admission Test [CLAT]: conducted by the consortium of National Law Universities for admission to LLB courses in the various NLUs.
  • Law School Admission Test [LSAT]: is an entrance exam and many universities consider its score for admission to Law courses.
  • All India Law Entrance Test [AILET]: is conducted by National Law University of Delhi.
  • Andhra Pradesh Law Common Entrance Test [AP LAWCET]: is conducted by colleges and universities in Andhra Pradesh for admission to LLB programs.