The Full form of JEE is the Joint Entrance Examination. JEE is an entrance examination conducted for admission and selection to various engineering colleges across the country. It is constituted by two different examinations – one is JEE Main and the other is JEE Advanced. Earlier, the AIEEE exam was conducted for admissions into engineering colleges in India but now it is replaced by the JEE-Main exam, and IIT-JEE has now become the JEE-Advanced exam. The candidates who pass the JEE Main exam are eligible to appear in the JEE Advanced Exam.

JEE Main examination is held in online mode and twice a year. The JoSAA (Joint Seat Allocation Authority) conducts the joint admission process for a total of 32 NIT (National Institute of Technology) campuses, 23 IIT (Indian Institute of Technology) campuses, 18 IIIT (Indian Institute of Information Technology) campuses, Indian School of Mines and 19 other GFTIs (Government Funded Technical Institutes) based on the rank obtained by a student in JEE Mains and JEE Advanced.

The JEE Main comprises of three papers- Paper 1, Paper 2 and Paper 3. Paper 1 is for admission in BE and B.Tech courses, Paper 2 is for admission to B.Arch and Paper 3 for B.Planning courses. The candidates can appear for the JEE Main exam for 3-consecutive years but can appear for JEE Advanced exams only for 2-consecutive years. From the year 2020 JEE Main will be conducted twice a year – January session and April session. A candidate can appear in either of the 2 or both the sessions.