The full form of UGC is University Grants Commission. It is a statutory body that falls under the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India. It came into existence in 1953. It is responsible for implementing rules and regulations of the recognised Universities under the body. The current Chairman of UGC is DP Singh. Its headquarter is in New Delhi and has six regional centres situated in Bangalore, Bhopal, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Pune and Guwahati.  It is also responsible for conducting various exams such as NET in order to recruit for posts such as Assistant Professors.