Which are the Universities that offer MCA programme? What are the entrance dates and related job opportunities?

Master of Computer Applications (MCA) is a three-year, six-semester programme. This course is intended to train engineering / technology, science or commerce graduates who have studied mathematics as one of the subjects, in the development and use of software for different applications. This course gives the student a sound background in computing, business functions and mathematics relevant to information technology.

The Commissioner for Entrance Examination under the State government conducts an annual entrance test for admission to MCA courses being offered by 37 colleges in the State. The colleges are Government College of Engineering, Sreekariyam, Thiruvananthapuram (30 seats); Government Engineering College, Thrissur (30); Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Technology, Kottayam (30); T.K.M. College of Engineering, Kollam (30); Mar Athanasius College of Engineering Kothamangalam (30); Haji CHMM College of Advanced Studies, Varkala (60); KVVS Institute of Technology, Adoor (60); Lourds Matha College of Science and Technology, Kuttichal, Thiruvananthapuram (45); Mar Baselious Institute of Technology, Anchal, Kollam (45); Mar Thoma Institute of Information Technology, Chadayamangalam (60); Mohandas College of Engineering and Technology, Anad Thiruvananthapuram (60); Sree Narayanana Institute of Technology, Vadakkevila, Kollam (60); De Paul Institute of Science and Technology, Angamaly South (60); Federal Institute of Science & Technology, Mookannoor, Angamaly (60); Krishthu Jyothi College of Management, Chethipuzha, Kottayam (60) ; MA college of Advanced Studies, Thiruvalla (60); Marian College, Kuttikanam, Idukki (60); MES College, Marampally North, Vazhakkulam (30); Nirmala College, Moovattupuzha (60); Rajagiri College Social Sciences, Kalamasssery (45); Saints Gits College of Engineering Pathanamthitta (60); Santhigiri College of Computer Science, Vazhuthal, Thodupuzha (60); Sree Narayana Institute of Science and Technology, North Paravur (60); Union Christian College, Aluva (60); AWH Engineering Kuttikattore, Calicut (60); SCMS School of Technology & Management, Muttom (60); SCMS School of Engineering & Technology, Palissery (60); DOEACC Centre, Kozhikode (60); MES College of Engineering Kuttipuram (60); Vidya Academy of Science & Technology, Kurumal, Thrissur (60); West Fort Higher Education Trust, Pattore, Thrissur (45); Don Bosco College, Kannur (30); Chinmaya Institute of Technology, Govindagiri, Thottada (60); Nehru College of Engineering and Research Centre, Pampady, Thrissur (60); College of Applied Sciences, Kiliyanad, Kozhikode (30); College of Applied Sciences, Vadakkancherry, Palakkad (30); LBS College of Engineering, Powal, Mooliyar, Kasaragod (30).

Those who have passed three-year Bachelor’s degree courses in any discipline with mathematics as one of the subjects or have studied mathematics at the Plus Two level are eligible to write the entrance test. Final year degree students are also eligible to appear for the test.

The test is of two-hour duration. The test comprises objective-type questions covering mathematics, statistics, physics, chemistry, general knowledge and general English (20 questions each) and 30 questions from fundamentals of computer awareness at the graduate-level. The Commissioner for Entrance Examinations allots colleges to the students based on their ranks.

At Cusat

The Cochin University of Science and Technology (Cusat) conducts a self-financing MCA course. Any graduate with mathematics as a main subject or as one of the subsidiaries or a graduate in electronics, computer science, computer applications, engineering and technology with an aggregate of 55 per cent marks in subjects other than languages and humanities are eligible for admission. Selection is through the Cusat Common Admission Test (CAT). Details may be had from www.cusat.nic.in.

Calicut University

Under the University of Calicut , the MCA programme is offered at the following centers: Computer Centre, Calicut University Campus, Tenhipalam; MCA Centre Vadakara; Computer Science Centre Thiurkkal, Manjeri; Centre for Science and Technology Muttil, Wynad; Computer Science Centre, MES Kalladi College, Manarkad; Computer Science Centre, Marutharod, Palakkad; Centre for Science and Technology Pudukkad, Thrissur; Computer Science Centre, KKTM Government College, Pullut; Computer Science Centre, Dr. John Mathai Centre, Arnattukara; Centre for Science and Technology, Thalikulam, Thrissur and University Study Centre, PT Usha Road, Kozhikode. Each College will admit 30 students.

Selection to all these centres is based on a graduate-level entrance test conducted by the university. Those who have passed B.Sc. or B.Com. with mathematics or statistics as one of the optional subjects with at least 50 per cent aggregate marks (including languages) and 60 per cent in the optional subjects or B.Tech. with 50 per cent in aggregate (all semesters put together) or BCA/ B.Sc. Computer Science, B.Sc. (IT), B.Sc. electronics with 50 per cent marks are eligible for admission. SC/ST Students require a minimum pass and SEBC students get 5 per cent relaxation in marks in the qualifying examination. Students awaiting the result of the qualifying examination can also apply. The admission notification can be expected during April and the entrance test may be held in May or June ( www.universityofcalicut.info).

Career prospects

MCA holders who have qualified with high marks from a reputed institute or University can work as programmers, system analysts, software engineers, electronic data processing managers, database administrators, training faculty, project managers, and technical consultants and so on. There are several job opportunities for meritorious MCA holders in programming and the software engineering fields with attractive remuneration.