State Bank of India

SBI Full Form – What is the Full form of SBI? 

SBI Full Form – State Bank of India or SBI is an Indian nationalised bank and a PSU or Public Sector Undertaking. SBI is headed by the Ministry of Finance of the Government of India and regulated by RBI, the Central Bank of India. SBI is India’s largest PSU Bank. SBI has entered the list of top 50 banks in the world in terms of assets. Its precise rank is 43. It also ranks 221st in the Fortune Global 500 list in terms of being a big corporation in the year 2020. SBI was the only Indian bank in this list. It is also the fifth largest employer in India, generating employment to over 2 lakhs people. It is also the oldest commercial bank in the country as it began its journey from 2nd June 1806 when the Bank of Calcutta was established. Bank of Calcutta was a Presidency Bank. Later on, two more presidency banks were established – the Bank of Bombay on 15th April 1840 and the Bank of Madras on 1st July 1843. The Bank of Calcutta was renamed the Bank of Bengal on 2nd January 1809. These 3 banks amalgamated on 27th January 1921 and took the name Imperial Bank of India, which changed its name to State Bank of India on 1st July 1955.