The Full form of IPL is Indian Premier League. IPL is a Twenty20 cricket tournament introduced by BCCI (Board of Control of Cricket in India), in 2008. Its first season commenced on 18th April 2008. Rajasthan Royals was the winner of the first of IPL held in the year 2008. Indian Premier League is not only for Indian cricketers.

The format of IPL also allows the players of different countries to participate in the tournament. Indian and foreign players form teams which represent different cities of India such as Mumbai Indians, Delhi Daredevils, Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders. Each team plays against each other twice so that each team plays at least 14 matches before qualifying for the semifinal. Only four teams qualify for the semifinal on the basis of points earned and net run rate.

There are certain rules for the composition of the IPL team. Some of them are: there should be at least 16 players in a team, there should be four foreign players in the playing XI squad, the under-19 player who has played First-class or Lists A cricket can also play the IPL and there is no minimum quota for local players.