Federal Bureau of Investigation

The Full form of FBI is Federal Bureau of Investigation. FBI was formed as a government agency on 26th July 1908, which belongs to the United States Department of Justice. Initially, in 1908, it was established as Bureau of Investigation but later it was renamed to Federal Bureau of Investigation in 1935. The director of Federal Bureau of Investigation is appointed by U.S. President and the appointment is confirmed by the Senate. As of August 2017, the current director of the FBI is Christopher Wray.

It is headquartered in Washington D.C. in J. Edgar Hoover Building. The main agenda of the FBI in the United States is to look after and maintain law and order by protecting the country from terrorist attacks, cyber-crimes, high-technology crimes, and protect civil rights. It also provides investigative intelligence, expertise, and training to domestic and international partners and agencies.

The main functional branches of FBI include National Security Branch, Intelligence Branch, Science, and Technology Branch, Human Resources Branch, Criminal, Cyber, Response, and Services Branch and Information and Technology Branch. To become an FBI agent, the candidate must have American citizenship, a 4-year degree, and should be between the ages of 23 and 39. Furthermore, he should not have any kind of criminal record.