The Full form of CIA is Central Intelligence Agency. CIA is a civilian foreign intelligence service of the federal government of the United States. It has its headquarters in George Bush Center for Intelligence, located in Virginia, United States. It was established when President Harry S. Truman signed the National Security Act in 1947. Gina Haspel is the Director of the CIA, who serves as the head and reports to the Director of National Intelligence.

The Director is nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate. He takes care of the personnel, operations, and budge of the CIA and acts as the National Human Source Intelligence Manager. Central Intelligence Agency officers are guided by the professional ethos that comprises core values, abiding principles, and the highest aspirations of the CIA. Their ethos includes many aspects, which are: Service, Integrity, Excellence, Courage, Teamwork, and Stewardship.

The units or offices of CIA are divided into five categories, which are: Directorate of Support, Directorate of Intelligence, National Clandestine Service, Directorate of Science and Technology, and Offices of the Director. CIA identifies the issue or the problem of national security and performs other similar duties and functions as directed by the Director of National Intelligence or the President that may affect national security.