Syllabus for M.Sc Computer Science

M.Sc. Computer Science or Master of Science in Computer Science is a postgraduate course of 2 years’ duration.  The course is designed to deal with core competence in various thrust areas of Computer Science. The program includes software engineering, system development, natural computation, mathematical foundations and artificial intelligence.

To pursue M.Sc. in Computer Science students should have a bachelor’s degree or equivalent with minimum 50% marks from a recognized university.  

In the page below we have compiled the common Syllabus for M.Sc. Computer Science as prescribed by various Universities and colleges. Two years M.Sc. Computer Science syllabus consists of some core subjects and electives. There might be variations in Syllabus based upon Universities and Colleges 

M.Sc Computer Science Syllabus Part-I 

Advanced Programming Language
Data Structures using C
Computer Organisation and Architecture
Microprocessor and Applications
System Software
Language Structure
File Organisation and DBMS
Design and Analysis of Algorithms 


M.Sc Computer Science Syllabus Part-II 

Operating System
Introduction to Artificial Intelligence
Computer Graphics
Advanced Computer Applications
Data Networking
System Analysis and Design


In the second semester of the first year, students are required to choose one elective out of the following:

  • Electronic Commerce
  • Numerical Computing
  • Combinatorial Optimization
  • Computational Linguistics

The third semester has a total of four subjects which includes a minor project. The students are further provided with options to choose for their advanced study in the area of their interest.

After completing M.Sc. in Computer Science, one can opt for career opportunities in Software and Computer Hardware related industry. Those who are interested and want to do further research work can join MPhil or PhD course.