List of fake University released by UGC 

UGC released the list of fake university – The University Grants Commission recently released the list containing the names of 23 fake universities which are currently functioning in India. These are in contravention with the UGC Act. The list has been released targeting especially the parents and students who are about to seek admission in the upcoming academic year.


These 23 self styled universities are currently functioning without the recognition of UGC in the various parts of the country. Uttar Pradesh has the highest number of fake universities i.e. eight, West Bengal has two, Odisha has three and Delhi has seven. Maharashtra, Kerala, Karnataka and Puducherry have one such fake university each. 


The commission states that University Grants Commission Act, 1956 classified under Sec 22(1) states that only those Universities which were established under a Central, State or any such Provisional Act or any such institution which is deemed to be a University under UGC Act’s Section 3 are allowed to confer any degree. 



Apart from that UGC Act’s Sec 23 prohibits the use of this word ‘University’ by any such institution which is deemed to be such an ‘University’ or has not been granted this title officially as of yet. UGC also stated that Lucknow based Bhartiya Shiksha Parishad’s recognition  is currently subjudice before Lucknow’s District Judge. 


See: UGC notifies hike in JRF, SRF Research Fellowships Amount


List of Fake Universities


  • Raja Arabic University, Nagpur



  • Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University Education Society, Gokak, Belgaum (Karnataka)



  • St. John’s University, Kishanattam, Kerala.


West Bengal:

  • Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, 8-A, Diamond Harbor Road Builtech inn 2nd Floor, Kurpukur, Kolkata-700063
  • Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, 80, Chowringhee Road, Kolkata-20



  • North Orissa University of Agriculture & Technology, University Road Baripada, Distt. Mayurbhanj, Odisha-757003. Puducherry
  • Nababharat Shiksha Parishad, Anupooma Bhawan, Plot No. 242, Pani Tanki Road, Shaktinagar, Rourkela-769014
  • Sree Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, No. 186, Thilaspet, Vazhuthavoor Road, Puducherry-605009


Uttar Pradesh

  • Varanaseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Varanasi (UP)/Jagatpuri, Delhi.
  • Mahila Gram Vidyapith/Vishwavidyalaya, (Women’s) University, Prayagraj, (U. P.)
  • Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith, Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh.
  • National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh.
  • Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Achaltal, Aligarh, (UP).
  • Uttar Pradesh Vishwavidyalaya, Koshi Kalan, Mathura (UP).
  • Maharana Partap Shiksha Niketan Vishwavidyalaya, Pratapgarh (UP).
  • Indraprastha Shiksha Parishad, Institutional Area, Kohoda, Makanpur, Noida Phase-II, (UP).



  • Commercial University Ltd, Daryaganj, Delhi
  • United Nations University, Delhi
  • Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi
  • ADR-Centric Juridical University, ADR House, 8J, Gopala Tower, 25 Rajendra Place, New Delhi-110008
  • Indian Institution of Science and Engineering, New Delhi. 
  • Viswakarma Open University for Self-employment, India Rozgar Sewasadan, 672, Sanjay Enclave, Opp. GTK DEPOT, New Delhi-110033. 
  • Adhyatmik Vishwavidyalaya (Sprirtual University), 351-352, Phase-1, Block-A, Vijay Vihar, Rithala, Rohini, Delhi-110085. Karnataka 


See: Latest UGC NET News and Updates