The University Grants Commission (UGC) recently released its updated list of the Higher Educational Institutes (HEIs) that have been granted approval for continuing their respective Open and Distance Learning Academic Courses for the academic year of 2019-20 and onwards that period. 


The UGC had received several applications on the basis of its UGC (ODL) Regulations, 2017 (Second and Third Amendments) in order to offer several Undergraduate and Postgraduate courses to be offered under the Open Distance Learning (ODL) mode. With continuation to a UGC notification issued earlier for the academic year for 2019-20 and after that, around 82 HEIs have been recognised to offer courses under the ODL mode with their academic session starting from July 2019 onwards. 


 According to the new rules issued by UGC, new institutes which are the applicants should have a NAAC score of 3.26 on the scale of 4 in order to get the UGC affiliation before the end of 2019-20 academic year. The NAAC is responsible for accrediting and assessing the Higher Educational Institutes of India.


The HEIs recognised by UGC offer several courses under the ODL mode. These include Bachelor Courses such as Bachelor of Arts (BA) offered in different streams such as languages, Political Science, Economics, Sociology, Psychology, etc., Bachelor of Commerce (BCom), Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA), Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA), Bachelor of Library Science (BLib), Bachelor of Science (BSc) in different streams such as Information Technology (IT), Zoology, Physics, Chemistry, Maths, etc.


The Masters Courses are Masters of Arts (MA) in streams such as Economics, Education, English, Hindi, Marathi, Political Science and Sociology. Other Masters courses offered are Masters of Commerce (MCom), Masters of Computer Application (MCA), Master of Science in IT (MSc – IT), MSc in Maths and other streams.


Also See :