Latest List  Chief Ministers and Governors of Indian States/ Lt Governors of Union Territories


Latest List of Chief Ministers and Governors in India 2024  – In the Republic of India, each of the twenty-eight states and three of the eight union territories is governed by a Chief Minister who serves as the head of the government. As per the Constitution of India, the governor holds the de jure position of the head at the state level, but the de facto executive authority lies with the chief minister. Following elections to the state legislative assembly, the governor typically extends an invitation to the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the state government. The chief minister is then appointed by the governor, and their council of ministers collectively answers to the assembly. Chief Ministers also assume the role of the leader of the house in their respective Legislative Assemblies. Subject to the assembly’s confidence, the chief minister’s term is generally limited to a maximum of five years, with no restrictions on the number of terms they can serve. 
Below is the complete state-wise list of Chief Ministers and Governors for all Indian states/Union Territories as of January 1, 2024. This compilation of Chief Ministers and Governors of Indian states/UT serves as a valuable resource for various upcoming competitive exams. Based on previous  years exam trends, 4-5 questions are typically asked from this Static Awareness topic.




State – Andhra Pradesh
Chief Minister – Shri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Governor – Shri Justice (Retd.) S. Abdul Nazeer
State – Arunachal Pradesh
Chief Minister – Shri Pema Khandu
Governor – Lt. General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik, PVSM, UYSM, YSM (Retired)
State – Assam
Chief Minister – Shri Himanta Biswa Sarma
Governor – Shri Gulab Chand Kataria
State – Bihar
Chief Minister – Shri Nitish Kumar
Governor – Shri Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
State – Chhattisgarh
Chief Minister – Shri Vishnu Deo Sai
Governor – Shri Biswa Bhusan Harichandan
State – Goa
Chief Minister – Shri Pramod Sawant
Governor – Shri P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
State – Gujarat
Chief Minister – Shri Bhupendra Patel
Governor – Shri Acharya Dev Vrat
State – Haryana
Chief Minister – Shri Manohar Lal
Governor – Shri Bandaru Dattatraya
State – Himachal Pradesh
Chief Minister – Shri Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu
Governor – Shri Shiv Pratap Shukla
State – Jharkhand
Chief Minister – Shri Hemant Soren
Governor – Shri C.P. Radhakrishnan
State – Karnataka
Chief Minister – Shri Siddaramaiah
Governor – Shri Thaawarchand Gehlot
State – Kerala
Chief Minister – Shri Pinarayi Vijayan
Governor – Shri Arif Mohammed Khan
State – Madhya Pradesh
Chief Minister – Shri Mohan Yadav
Governor – Shri Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
State – Maharashtra
Chief Minister – Shri Eknath Shinde
Governor – Shri Ramesh Bais
State – Manipur
Chief Minister – Shri N. Biren Singh
Governor – Sushri Anusuiya Uikye
State – Meghalaya
Chief Minister – Shri Conrad Kongkal Sangma
Governor – Shri Phagu Chauhan
State – Mizoram
Chief Minister – Shri PU Lalduhoma
Governor – Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu
State – Nagaland
Chief Minister – Shri Neiphiu Rio
Governor – Shri La. Ganesan
State – Odisha
Chief Minister – Shri Naveen Patnaik
Governor – Shri Raghubar Das
State – Punjab
Chief Minister – Shri Bhagwant Singh Mann
Governor – Shri Banwarilal Purohit
State – Rajasthan
Chief Minister – Shri Bhajan Lal Sharma
Governor – Shri Kalraj Mishra
State – Sikkim
Chief Minister – Shri PS Golay
Governor – Shri Lakshman Prasad Acharya
State – Tamil Nadu
Chief Minister – Shri M. K. Stalin
Governor – Shri R. N. Ravi
State – Telangana
Chief Minister – Shri A Revanth Reddy
Governor – Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
State – Tripura
Chief Minister – Dr. Manik Saha
Governor – Shri Indra Sena Reddy Nallu
State – Uttar Pradesh
Chief Minister – Shri Yogi Aditya Nath
Governor – Smt. Anandiben Patel
State – Uttarakhand
Chief Minister – Shri Pushkar Singh Dhami
Governor – Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh, PVSM, UYSM, AVSM, VSM (Retd.)
State – West Bengal
Chief Minister – Km. Mamata Banerjee
Governor – Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose


Union Territory (UT)


In the case of the eight Union Territories of India, three UTs are governed by Administrators, while the remaining five UTs are led by lieutenant governors.


Union Territory – Andaman and Nicobar Island
Lieutenant Governor – Admiral Devendra Kumar Joshi
Union Territory – Chandigarh
Administrator – Shri Banwarilal Purohit
Union Territory – Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
Administrator – Shri Praful Patel
Union Territory – Delhi (NCT)
Chief Minister – Shri Arvind Kejriwal
Lieutenant Governor – Shri Vinai Kumar Saxena
Union Territory – Jammu and Kashmir
Lieutenant Governor – Shri Manoj Sinha
Union Territory – Lakshadweep
Administrator – Shri Praful Patel
Union Territory – Puducherry
Chief Minister – Shri N. Rangaswamy
Lieutenant Governor – Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan (Addl. Charge)
Union Territory – Ladakh
Lieutenant Governor – Brig. (Dr.) Shri B.D. Mishra (Retd.)