Tripura University Tripura

(State University)



Higher education in Tripura had a late start. Maharaja Bir Bikram (MBB) College, the first degree college in the State, started functioning under the University of Calcutta only in 1947. Not that there was no attempt in the past in Princely Tripura to establish any higher educational institution.

Courses Offered

PG Degrees (MA/M.Sc/M.Com)

  1. Political Science
  2. History
  3. Geography and Disaster Management
  4. Philosophy
  5. Bengali
  6. English
  7. Sanskrit
  8. Analytical and Applied Economics
  9. Commerce
  10. Physics
  11. Chemistry
  12. Mathematics
  13. Zoology
  14. Botany
  15. Human Physiology
  16. Hindi
  17. Kokborok

Ph.D Programmes  

  1. Political Science
  2. History
  3. Philosophy
  4. Bengali
  5. English
  6. Sanskrit
  7. Analytical and Applied Economics
  8. Commerce
  9. Physics
  10. Chemistry
  11. Mathematics
  12. Zoology
  13. Botany
  14. Human Physiology

Directorate of Distance Education

  1. 2 year B.Ed
  2. 3 year BA
  3. 2 year MA in Education
  4. 2 year MA in Political Science
  5. 1 year diploma in computer Application

Directorate of Professional Studies

  1. Bachelor of Computer Application (BCA)
  2. Master of Computer Application (MCA)
  3. M.Sc in Computer Science (MCS)
  4. Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA)
  5. Master’s Degree in Rural Management and Development (MRMD)
  6. PG Diploma in Bamboo cultivation & Resource utilization (BCRU)

School of Management 

  1. Master’s Degree in Business  Administration (MBA)

Department of Engineering

  1. M. Tech in Electrical Engineering
  2. M. Tech in Computer Engineering

Center for Tribal Language                                                        
1 year Diploma Course in Kokborok Language and Literature

Center for Rural Studies

Admission Process

Admission is any course would be made on the basis of candidate’s performance in the admission test; if and where, no test in conducted, admission would be made on the basis of aggregate total marks secured by the candidate in / at the qualifying examination and marks obtained by the candidate in eligibility subject
For latest information regarding Courses duration ,eligibility, and fee structure visit college website

Affiliated Colleges


A) General Degree Colleges 

  1. MBB Collge ,Agartala Ramkrishna Mahavidyalaya Kailasahar
  2. Belonia College,Belonia
  3. Women’s College,Agartala
  4. Ramthakur College,Badharghat, A.D.Nagar
  5. Bir Bikram Memorial College, Agartala
  6. Dasarath Dev Memorial College Khowai
  7. Govt. Degree College,Dharmanagar
  8. Netaji Subhas Mahavidyalaya Udaipur
  9. Michael Madhusudan Datta College Sabroom
  10. Govt. Degree College,Kamalpur
  11. Govt. Degree College,Amarpur
  12. Kabi Nazrul Mahavidyalaya Sonamura
  13. Ambedkar College,Fatikroy
  14. Bhavan’s Tripura College of Science and Technology,Agartala

B)  Professional College

  1. Govt. Music College,Agartala
  2. Institute of Advanced Studies in Education,Agartala
  3. Tripura Engineering College,Barjala
  4. Govt. College of Art and Craft,Agartala
  5. Regional College of Physical Education Panisagar
  6. Tripura Govt. Law College,Agartala
  7. Regional Institute of Pharmaceutical Science and Technology (RIPSAT) Agartala
  8. Bhavan’s College for Teacher Education Narsingarh
  9. Agartala Govt. Medical College
  10. Tripura Medical College
  11. Tripura Institute of Technology

Affiliated Colleges Offering PG Courses

1.Institute of Advanced Studies in Education Agartala


Tripura University

Tripura West
Tripura 799 130


Tel : 0381-2374801, 2353244, 2374807, 2308976
Fax : 0381-2374801/802
Email : [email protected]


VC: Prof Arunoday Saha
Reg: Dr K B Jamatia (Offg)