Tezpur University Tezpur

(Central University)



Tezpur University was established on 15th January, 1994 by an Act of Parliament (Act. No. 45, 1993)  as a non-affiliating, unitary type residential institute of higher education.

All the Departments and various faculty members are thus awarded prestigious research projects from funding agencies like ONGC, UGC, AICTE, MS & PI, ICSSR, DRDO, CSIR, ISRO, NSC, MNCE, World Bank etc. and prestigious National and International Fellowships

Courses Offered

Degree/ Diploma/ Certificate Programmes

Chemical Sciences

  1. M. Sc. in Applied

Computer Science & Engineering

  1. B. Tech. in Computer Science & Engineering
  2. Master of Computer Application (MCA)
  3. M. Tech. in Information Technology

Electronics &  Communication  Engineering

  1. B. Tech. in Electronics & Communication Engineering
  2. M. Tech. in Electronics Design & Technology
  3. M. Tech. in Bioelectronics

Mechanical Engineering

  1. B. Tech. in Mechanical Engineering

Molecular  Biology and  Biotechnology

    1. M. Sc. in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology.

Mathematical  Sciences

  1. M.A./ M. Sc. in Mathematics
  2. M. Tech. in Computational Seismology


  1. M. Sc. in Physics
  2. M. Sc. in Nanoscience & Technology

Food Processing Technology

  1. M. Sc. in Food Processing Technology


    1. M. Tech. in Energy Technology*

Environmental Science

  1. M. Sc in Environmental Science

Cultural Studies

  1. M. A. in Cultural Studies (Modular)

English and Foreign Languages

  1. M.A. in English
  2. One year Certificate in Chinese (full time)

Mass Communication and Journalism

  1. M. A. in Mass Communication and Journalism


  1. M.A. in Sociology

Business Administration

  1. Master of Business Administration

PG Diploma in Tourism Management (Modular)

Ph.D. Programmes:  Currently PhD programme is offered in all the departments except the Department of Sociology, Food Processing Technology and Mechanical Engineering

Admission Process

Selection of eligible candidates
(a) For B. Tech. programmes
(i) Candidates seeking admission to the B. Tech. programmes are required to appear in the AIEEE2009 to be conducted by CBSE, New Delhi. All admission except for the top ten rank holders in 10+2 Board / Council Examinations (NE States) shall be based on AIEEE score. Candidates from the NE region securing any of the top ten positions in the 10+2 Board / Council Examinations and with atleast 85% marks are eligible for direct admission to the programme.
(ii) 50% seats are reserved for the NE States. For admission to these seats the candidates are also required to submit application to Tezpur University in the prescribed form provided with this prospectus.
(iii) Admission to the remaining 50% open seats shall be made through the central counseling of AIEEE. The selected candidates will have to fill in the Tezpur University Application Form at the time of admission.

(b) For Integrated M. Sc. Candidate qualifying the entrance examination conducted by TUEE09 for Integrated M. Sc. programmes will be called for admission according to his/her performance in the examination.

(c ) All PG programmes other than MBA All candidates seeking admission shall have to appear in the Tezpur University Entrance Examinations (TUEE), 2009 as per the schedule given in Annexure – II at the centres mentioned earlier. For M.Tech programmes in Information Technology, Electronics Design and Technology and Bioelectronics, however, candidates with valid GATE score of 300 (200 for SC/ST) or above in respective disciplines may seek direct admission. For some programmes candidates selected through TUEE 2009 shall be required to appear for Group Discussion and/or Personal Interview, the dates for which will be intimated in due course. Only eligible candidates will be issued admit cards.

In case of nonreceipt of Admit Card, a candidate may contact the Tezpur University Official at the examination centre with proof of submission of Application Form.
The results of entrance examinations are likely to be declared in the fourth week of June 2009.

(d) For all programmes
For all programmes candidates shall be selected for admission strictly on merit (based on entrance test and/or interview) basis by a committee constituted for the purpose and the decision of the committee shall be final. Seats are reserved for SC/ST and Persons with Disabilities (PWD) candidates as per the Central Government Rules.

PWD candidates with at least 40% permanent disabilities will only be considered.
The list of selected candidates for admission, including a waiting list, will be notified in the University Notice Board and the selected candidates will also be intimated individually by post. Also the list will be made available on the University Website.
However, The university will not be responsible for non receipt/ late receipt call letters and no claim will be entertained in any circumstances


Tezpur University
(Central University)

Napaam, Tezpur
Distt, Sonitpur
Tezpur 784 028

Tel : 03712-267003, 255685, 267004, 267106
Fax : 03712-267005/267006

Email : [email protected],
[email protected], [email protected]
Website :https://www.tezu.ernet.in

VC: Prof Mihir K Chaudhuri
Reg: Dr Alak Kumar Buragohain