Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University Udhampur


Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University which has been established under an act, the Jammu and Kashmir Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University act, 1999 as residential and a highly technical university to offer scientific and technical education of the highest standards.

Christened on the name of the holy divine and established with a vision to nurture young talented human resource for the service of Indian society and world at large preserving the integrity and sanctity of human values, the university was inaugurated by the President of India, Dr. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam, a scientist, academician and an administrator par excellence on August 19, 2004.

Courses Offered

Under-graduate Programmes

  1. B.Tech in Computer Science & Engineering
  2. B.Tech in Electronics & Communication Engineering
  3. B.Tech in Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
  4. B.Tech in Mechanical Engineering
  5. B.Tech in Industrial Biotechnology
  6. B. Architecture

Post Graduate Programmes

  1. Master of Business Administration
  2. Master of Technology in Energy Management
  3. Master of Technology in Manufacturing & Automation
  4. Master  of Business Administration ( Business Economics)
  5. Master of  Science in Mathematics
  6. Master of Arts (Philosophy)
  7. Master of Arts (English) 

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D)  

  1. Energy Management 
  2. Biotechnology
  3. Renewable Energy
  4. Genetic Engineering
  5. Energy Efficiency in Buildings
  6. Plant cell Biology
  7. Energy & Environmental Planning                  
  8. Electronics and Communication
  9. Energy Economics 
  10. Management and Finance
  11. Fuel Cells 
  12. Environmental Economics
  13. Material Science
  14. Poverty Analysis
  15. International Trade
  16. Economics of Tourism
  17. W. T. O., Trade and Environment 
  18. South Asian Regional Cooperation
  19. Econometrics
  20. Mathematics (Ring Theory, Graph Theory)

Affiliated Colleges

  1. School of Computer Science & Engineering
  2. School of  Electronics & Communication Engineering
  3. School of  Biotechnology
  4. School of  Mechanical Engineering
  5. School of  Architecture
  6. School of  Applied Physics & Mathematics
  7. School of  Business
  8. School of  Economics
  9. School of  Infrastructure & Resource Management
  10. School of Philosophy & Culture
  11. School of Languages

Admission Process

Admission is any course would be made on the basis of candidate’s performance in the admission test; if and where, no test in conducted, admission would be made on the basis of aggregate total marks secured by the candidate in / at the qualifying examination and marks obtained by the candidate in eligibility subject

SMVDU is a microcosm of the Indian nation, drawing students from every nook and corner of the country. Admissions to the University are through All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE) and MAT (Management  Aptitude Test).

For latest information regarding Courses duration ,eligibility, and fee structure visit University/college website


Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University

Sira Kotla-Kakrial, P O Panthal Jhajjar Kotli
Udhampur (J&K)
Jammu 182121
Jammu and Kashmir

Tel : 01991-285686, 285687
Fax : 0191-2285573
Email : [email protected], [email protected]
Website :

VC: Dr N K Bansal
Reg: Col. (Retd.) D K Kapur