Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University Hyderabad

(State-Language University)



Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University is one of the few language universities in the country. It was established as “Telugu University” on 2nd December 1985 through an Act of Legislation (Act No. 27 of 1985)  with head quarters at Hyderabad and campuses at Sri Sailam and Rajahmundry. Later in the year 1989 the Siddhendra Kalakshetram at Kuchipudi merged with the University. The School of Folk and Tribal Lore was established at Warangal during the year 1994.

  This University was renamed as Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University in the year 1998. The University Grants Commission has recognized the University as fit to receive financial grants since 2nd May1990.

Courses Offered

language courses in the following schools and their departments

  School of Language Development

  1. Department of Linguistics

  School of Fine Arts

  1. Department of Music
  2. Department of Dance
  3. Department of Folk Arts
  4. Department of Theatre Arts
  5. Department of Sculpture & Painting
  6. Department of Culture & Tourism

  School of Social and other Sciences

  1. Department of Communication & Journalism
  2. Department of Jyothisha & Vaastu

  School of Comparative Studies

  1. Department of Comparative Studies

  School of Literature

  1. Department of Telugu Literary Studies

  School of History, Culture and Archeology

  School of Folk and Tribal Lore

  Sri Siddhendra Yogi Kala Pitham

Distance Courses Offered

      • M.A Jyothisham (Telugu /English media)
      • M.A Sanskrit (Telugu/English/Sanskrit media)
      • M.A Telugu
      • M.C.J (Telugu media)
      • Certificate Course in Modern Telugu (useful for non-Telugus, English media)
      • Sangeetha Visharada (Telugu media)

 Admission Process

Admission is any course would be made on the basis of candidate’s performance in the admission test; if and where, no test in conducted, admission would be made on the basis of aggregate total marks secured by the candidate in / at the qualifying examination and marks obtained by the candidate in eligibility subject
For latest information regarding Courses duration ,eligibility, and fee structure visit college website


Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University is carried out by Schools and Centres. There are  eight Schools with eighteen Departments, three Centres spread over Five Campuses.

      1. Centre for Preparation of Encyclopedia Hyderabad Campus
      2. International Telugu Centre Hyderabad Campus
      3. Centre for Distance Education Hyderabad Campus


Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University
(State- language University)

Public Gardens,
Hyderabad 500 004
Andhra Pradesh

Tel : 040-23234815, 23545073, 23234676,
Fax : 040-23236045/23236911
Email : [email protected]
Website : https://www.teluguuniversity.ac.in

VC: Dr (Smt) A Manjulata
Reg: Prof A Gurumurthi