Indian Institute of Crop Processing Technology Thanjavur

(Ministry of Food Processing Industries, Govt. of India)



A Research and Development Laboratory was established in the modern rice mill complex of Thanjavur Co-operative Marketing Federation (TCMF) at Tiruvarur in 1968. Under the dedicated leadership and the able guidance of late Dr.V.Subramanyan, an eminent scientist and founder Director of Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore, this laboratory made significant contributions in the field of postharvest technology of paddy. Thus in 1972, the status of this R & D Laboratory was upgraded as a national laboratory under the name of “Paddy Processing Research Centre” (PPRC).

The PPRC was initially administered by the TCMF, Tiruvarur, thereafter by the Tamil Nadu Civil Supplies Corporation (TNCSC) and then by the Tamil Nadu Agricultural University. On 1st December, 1984 the PPRC was registered as a Society under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act and since then functioning as an autonomous body under the administrative control of the Department of Food, Government of India up to September ’88. Consequent upon the creation of the new Ministry of Food Processing Industries and transfer of the Rice Milling Cell from the Department of Food to this Ministry, the administrative control of the PPRC has also been transferred to this Ministry with effect from September ’88.

Courses Offered

Research And Development
Food Analysis
Agricultural Engineering

Affiliated Colleges

The institute has the following six divisions:

  1. Paddy
  2. Millet
  3. Pulses
  4. Oilseeds
  5. Food Analysis
  6. Agricultural Engineering


Indian Instituite of Crop Processing Technolgy
(Ministry of Food Processing Industries, Govt. of India)
Pudukkottai Road,
Thanjavur 613 005