Sastra University Thanjavur

(Deemed University)


The dreams of its founding fathers took shape in 1984 in the form of Shanmugha College of Engineering which is now renamed, SHANMUGHA ARTS, SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY & RESEARCH ACADEMY [SASTRA]. 

Courses Offered

 Full Time Courses  

Under Graduate Courses

  1. B.Tech. Bioengineering 
  2. B.Tech. Bioinformatics
  3. B.Tech. Biotechnology 
  4. B.Tech. Chemical Engineering
  5. B.Tech. Civil Engineering
  6. B.Tech. Computer Science & Engineering
  7. B.Tech. Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  8. B.Tech. Electronics & Communication Engineering
  9. B.Tech. Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering
  10. B.Tech. Information & Communication Technology
  11. B.Tech. Information Technology
  12. B.Tech. Mechanical Engineering
  13. B.Tech. Mechatronics(Jointly with M/s Brakes India Ltd.,)
  14. B.Tech. Programmes in all the above thro’ Lateral Entry (II yr.)

Post Graduate Courses

  1. M.Tech Industrial Biotechnology (Integrated Course)
  2. M.Tech Healthcare Nanotechnology (5 – year Integrated)  

Part Time Courses  

 Under Graduate Courses

  1. B.Tech. Civil Engineering 
  2. B.Tech. Computer Science & Engineering
  3. B.Tech. Electronics & Communication Engineering 
  4. B.Tech. Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  5. B.Tech. Mechanical Engineering

Full Time Courses  

 Post Graduate Courses

    • M.Tech. Advanced Computing 
    • M.Tech. Advanced Communication Systems
    • M.Tech. Advanced Manufacturing 
    • M.Tech. Bioinformatics
    • (Sponsored by Dept. of Biotechnology, Govt. of India)
    • M.Tech. Biomedical Signal Processing & Instrumentation
    • M.Tech. Chemical Engineering
    • M.Tech. Computer Integrated Manufacturing (CIM)
    • M.Tech. Computer Science
    • M.Tech. Construction Engineering & Management
    • M.Tech. Control Systems & Instrumentation
    • M.Tech. Disaster Management
    • M.Tech. Embedded Systems
    • M.Tech. Environmental Engineering
    • M.Tech. High Voltage Engineering 
    • M.Tech. Highway & Transportation Engineering 
    • M.Tech. Hydraulics & Water Resource Engineering 
    • M.Tech. Industrial Biotechnology
    • (Sponsored by Dept. of Biotechnology, Govt. of India)
    • M.Tech. Logistics Management
    • M.Tech. Mechatronics
    • M.Tech. Nanotechnology
    • M.Tech. Power Electronics & Drives
    • M.Tech. Power Systems
    • M.Tech. Project Management
    • (Jointly with M/s. Siemens Ltd.,)
    • M.Tech. Structural Engineering
    • M.Tech. Thermal Plant Engineering
    • M.Tech. VLSI Design
    • M.S. (By Research) Embedded Systems
    • (Jointly with M/s ECIL)
    • M.Pharm in Pharmacology / Pharmaceutics / Pharmacoinformatics
    • Master of Business Administration (MBA)
    • Master of Computer Applications (MCA)  

    Part Time Courses  

    • M.Tech. Advanced Communication Systems 
    • M.Tech. Advanced Manufacturing Systems
    • M.Tech. Computer Science 
    • M.Tech. Structural Engineering
    • M.Tech. VLSI Design
    • M.B.A
    • M.C.A
    • Ph.D.

    Courses Offered at SRC

    1. Bachelor of Business Administration (B. B. A.)
    2. Bachelor of Computer Applications (B. C. A.)
    3. B. Com.
    4. B. Sc. programmes with double majors

      a. Communication and Computer Science
      b. Electronics and Computer Science
      c. Mathematics and Computer Science
      d. Physics and Computer Science

    • B.Sc. Biochemistry
    • Master of Computer Applications (M.C.A.)*
    • M. Com.
    • M.Sc.
    • Biochemistry
    • Computer Science
    • Applied Electronics
    • Electronics and Instrumentation
    • Mathematics
    • Micro biology
    • M. Com. B.Ed.( Five year integrated programmes)
    • M. Sc. (Computer Science/Mathematics) B. Ed.
    • One year B. Ed. Programme in English, Physical Science, Commerce
    • M.Phil. (Full-time)
    • Chemistry
    • Commerce
    • Computer Science
    • Management Studies
    • Mathematics
    •  Physics
    • Biochemistry
    • Microbiology
    • B.Tech.
    • Computer Science and Engineering
    • Electrical and  Electronics Engineering
    • Electronics and Communication Engineering.**
    • B.Tech. (Part time)
    • Civil, Computer Science and Engineering
    •  Electrical and Electronics Engineering
    • Electronics and Communication Engineering 
    •  Mechanical Engineering.
    • B.Tech Information Technology
    • M.Ed (Master of Education)
    • Diploma and B.A. (Astrology), B. B. A., B.Com., M. Com., M.B.A., M.Phil. (Chemistry / Commerce / Computer Science / Management Studies / Mathematics / Physics) are offered through Distance Education.
      • MCA candidates with B. Sc. degree in Computer Science, IT, Information Science, or BCA with minimum of 65% marks will be admitted to the II year of the MCA.
    • **  Lateral entry into II B. Tech. courses for diploma holders.


    Admission Process

    Admissions to all programmes are strictly based on merit.  For B. Tech. programmes 70% of the total seats are filled by SASTRA based on the qualifying higher secondary examination marks following the process of normalization.  To bring all candidates from different examining authorities or boards in the same scale of comparison and to create a list in the order of merit, higher secondary examination marks are normalized.  The first rank student in each board is considered to have obtained 100% mark and aggregate marks of all other students of the board are normalized with reference to that of the first ranked student.  For example, if the first rank is 97% and an applicant’s aggregate is 90% then the applicant’s normalized percentage is 92.78 (90/97 x 100).  A merit list is drawn based on the normalized percentage for making admissions.  Admissions for students from the vocational stream to the respective B. Tech. programme are done from within the same category of applicants.  The remaining 30% of the seats are filled by MHRD based on the All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE) ranks as SASTRA has volunteered to offer seats to AIEEE qualified candidates.  Applications are called for in leading dailies and through SASTRA website for the 70% of the seats filled by SASTRA counseling and the publicity for the remaining 30% of the seats is provided by CBSE. 

    For all PG programmes the admissions are made on the basis of the scores in the qualifying UG / PG degree programme.  GATE qualified students are given preference.  For all other UG arts & science programmes, admissions are based on the qualifying examination marks.


    (Deemed University)

    Tirumalaisamudram, Thanjavur – 613 402.
    Tamil Nadu, India.
    Phone: +91 4362 264101 – 108, 304000 – 010.
    Telefax:+91 4362 264120.
    Email:[email protected]

    Srinivasa Ramanujan Centre,
    Kumbakonam, Tamilnadu,

    Phone : (0435)2400822
    Off: (0435)2426823 / 2421547
    E-mail ID: [email protected]