National Institute of Technology Agartala

(Institute of National Importance)


The College was established in 1965 with the three traditional branches of Civil, Electrical and Mechanical Engineering. It was initially affiliated to the University of Calcutta and had the same curriculum structure and examination system as par with Bengal Engineering College, the other institute affiliated to the University. After the establishment of Tripura University, the college was affiliated to the new University. After the enactment of the NIT Act the institute has become an “Institute of National Importance” and will shift to a new campus presently under construction.

The Institute is approved by All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE). Computer Science & Engineering degree course has been started in 1999-2000 session as well as three new courses viz. Electrical & Electronics, Production and Transportation Engineering have been introduced in this Institute during 2005-2006 sessions to cater the needs of the technical manpower in this region.

Courses Offered 


  1. Civil Engineering
  2. Computer Science and Engineering
  3. Electrical Engineering
  4. Electronics and Communication Engineering
  5. Mechanical Engineering
  6. Production Engineering
  7. Transport Engineering

M.Tech & Research

  1. Mechanical Engineering
  2. Electrical Engineering
  3. Civil Engineering
  4. Computer Science & Engineering
  5. Department of Electrical & Electronics Engineering
  6. Department of Transportation Engineering
  7. Department of Production Engineering

Admission process


M Tech/M.Sc



National Institute of Technology Agartala
(Institute of National Importance)

Tripura India -799055
Ph: +91-0381-2346630,2346360 | Fax: +91-0381-2346630,2346360
e-mail: [email protected]