Indian School of Mines Dhanbad

(Deemed University)



With the Mines Bill becoming a law vide Indian Mines Act – VIII of 1901 the necessity for establishing a government college of Mining Engineering at some suitable place in India on the pattern of the Royal School of Mines was felt by the then Indian Government.

The Government of India in 1920 decided that the proposed institution should be an All India Institution financed by the Central Government and be named Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad. The Indian School of Mines was formally opened by his Excellency The Vice Roy Lord Erwin on 9th. December, 1926.

The all round achievement by the graduates of Indian School of Mines in nation building was duly recognized and the School was granted university status under the UGC Act in 1967. From 1996-97 the School came directly under the Ministry of HRD, Government of India with pay scales and perks to its employees at par with that of IITs/IIMs.

Courses Offered

4 Years B.TECH ( 8 Semesters)
1.Mining Engineering
2.Petroleum Engineering
3.Mining Machinery Engineering
4.Mineral Engineering
5.Computer Science and Engineering
6.Electronics & Instrumentation
7.Mechanical Engineering
8.Electrical  Engineering
9.Environmental  Engineering

5 Years Dual Degrees ( 10 Semesters)
1.B. Tech. Mining Engineering + MBA
2.B. Tech. Mining Engineering + M. Tech. Mining Engineering
3.B. Tech. Petroleum Engineering  + M. Tech. Petroleum Management
4.B. Tech. Mineral Engineering  + M. Tech. Mineral Resource Management
5.B. Tech. Mineral Engineering  + M. Tech. Materials Technology

5 Years Integrated M.Sc.
1.Applied Physics
3.Mathematics and Computing

5 Years Integrated M.Sc. Tech.
1.Applied Geology
2.Applied Geophysics

3 Years  M.Sc. Tech. ( 6 Semesters)
1.Applied Geology
2.Applied Geophysics

2 Years   M.Sc. ( 4 Semesters)
1.Applied Physics
3.Mathematics and Computing

MBA Program (Two-Year Full Time)

Admission Process
About I.S.M.U. & Entrance Examination
B Tech
ISMU had been admitting students to the B.Tech and M.Sc Tech programmes through an Entrance Examination on All-India basis, since its inception. Since 1997, ISMU has been with the IIT JEE system and has been admitting students to B Tech programmes through the JEE conducted by IITs.

ISM admits students for M.Tech./M.Phil programmes through GATE/Written Test and Interview

MBA Program (Two-Year Full Time)
ISMU admits students for MBA  programmes through CAT scores   ( conducted by IIMs ) followed by Group Discussion and Personal Interview. Total Number of seats for M.B.A. program is 40.

ISMU admits Junior Research Fellows( JRFs)  for Ph.D.  programme through GATE/Written Test and Interview .


Indian School of Mines
(Deemed University)

Dhanbad 826 004,

Tel : 0326-2205403, 220228, 2205502, 2206318
Fax : 0326-2210028
Email : [email protected], [email protected]
Website :

Dir: Prof T Kumar
Reg: Col. P S Sandhu (Retd.)