Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
(Institutes of National Importance)


IIT Bombay, set up by an Act of Parliament, was established in 1958, at Powai, a northern suburb of Mumbai. Today the Institute is recognised as one of the centres of academic excellence in the country.

Courses Offered

Under Graduate Programs   

  1. B.Tech 
  2. Dual Degree

Post Graduate Programs

  1. M.Tech 
  2. M.Phil 
  3. M.Des 

Research Programs

  1. Ph.D 

Departments offering B.Tech/Dual Degree

    • Aerospace Engineering
    • Chemical Engineering
    • Civil Engineering
    • Computer Science & Engineering Department
    • Electrical Engineering
    • Mechanical Engineering
    • Metallurgical Engineering & Materials Science
    • Physics

    Dual Degree
    The Institute offers a 5 year Dual Degree programme (DD) in all Engineering departments. This programme is the Bachelor and Master degree combined together. That means that upon successful completion of the necessary academic requirements, a student is awarded two degrees:

    B.Tech. degree of the parent department (e.g. Mechanical Engineering)
    M.Tech. degree of the Specialization within the parent department (e.g. Thermal and Fluids Engineering)

    M Des

    1. Product Design
    2. Visual Communication
    3. Interaction Design and Animation.

    Departments offering M.Tech

    1. Aerospace Engineering
    2. Chemical Engineering
    3. Civil Engineering
    4. Computer Science & Engineering
    5. Earth Sciences
    6. Electrical Engineering
    7. Mechanical Engineering
    8. Metallurgical Engineering & Materials Science
    9. Center of Studies in Resources Engineering
    10. School of Biosciences & Bioengineering
    11. Corrosion Science & Engineering
    12. Energy Science & Engineering
    13. Industrial Engineering & Operations Research
    14. Systems & Control Engineering
    15. Environmental Science & Engineering
    16. Centre For Technology Alternatives For Rural Areas(CTARA) (Technology And Development)

    Departments offering Ph.D

    1. Aerospace Engineering
    2. School of Biosciences & Bioengineering
    3. Industrial Design Center
    4. Centre of Studies in Resources Engineering(CSRE)
    5. Chemical Engineering
    6. Chemistry
    7. Civil Engineering
    8. Computer Science & Engineering Department
    9. Corrosion Science & Engineering
    10. Earth Sciences
    11. Electrical Engineering
    12. Energy Science & Engineering
    13. Environmental Science & Engineering
    14. Humanities and Social Sciences
    15. Industrial Engineering & Operations Research
    16. Mathematics
    17. Mechanical Engineering
    18. Metallurgical Engineering & Materials Science
    19. Physics
    20. Sailesh .J. Mehta School of Management(SOM)
    21. Systems & Control Engineering

    M.Phil Programme In Planning And Development

    The M.Phil. Programme with specialization in Planning and Development is a 4 -semester interdisciplinary course, was launched in July 1993.

    Admission Process

    The Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) is a common admission test for candidates seeking admission to the B.Tech programme. It is conducted by all the seven IITsin the month of April every year. Candidates who have secured 60% (5% relaxation for SC/ST/PD) marks in aggregate in their respective board examination are eligible for the test. The JEE will be a single objective type examination which will test the comprehension and analytical abilities of students. For more details refere to the JEE brochure.
    More details are available at

    The Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) is an all India Examination conducted by all the IITs and IISc to identify meritorious and motivated candidates for admission to Post-graduate programmes in Engineering, Technology, Architecture and Pharmacy at National level.Information relating to GATE will be available through the announcements link and the GATE Brochure.
    More details are available at

    The Joint Management Entrance Test (JMET) is a common admission test for candidates seeking admission to the MBA programme at all the IITs and IISc. However, the candidates will have to apply separately to each IIT and IISc as per their choices. The application forms and the details for each Institute are provided with the JMET booklet and brochure. The JMET is usually conducted in December every year and the results of the test are announced a month later.
    More details are available at

    The Joint Admission Test for MSc (JAM) is a common admission test for candidates seeking admission to the 2-year M.Sc programme in physics, chemistry & mathematics at IITS; and a 3-year post B.Sc programme (MCA & M.Tech in Applied Geology / Applied Geophysics) at IIT Roorkee; and M.Sc. - Ph.D dual degree programme in Physics at IIT Kanpur.
    More details are available at

    Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
    (Institute of National Importance)

    Mumbai 400 076

    Tel : 022-25767000, 25768000, 25767020, 25768020
    Fax : 022-25723480/25723645
    Email :
    Website :

    Dir: Prof Ashok Misra
    Reg: Dr Tarunaditya Sahay