Entrance Exam

Your No1 source for Latest Entrance Exams, Admission info

Edunews > Admission News > U-turn by Karnataka government, to retain old CET format

U-turn by Karnataka government, to retain old CET format

The Karnataka state government has finally decided to scrap the proposed controversial admission regime for professional colleges. The government announced this move after being subject to all-round pressure for retaining the old Common Entrance Test (CET) format.


U-turn by Karnataka government, to retain old CET format. The decision to stick to to CET, according to reports, was taken after Chief Minister Siddaramaiah consulted a number of senior ministers and officials in a lengthy three-hour meeting on Friday. Following the meeting the CM confirmed that his government was planning to keep the much frowned upon Karnataka Professional Educational Institution Act, 2006 in abeyance for the 2014-15 academic calendar.

“In the interest of students, we have taken this decision….  The earlier system will continue,” Siddaramaiah stated while addressing the media after the meeting. Meanwhile, he also confirmed that the government will leave no stones unturned to amend the Act, if and when necessary.

“We have decided to consult students, parents, with educationists, students and other stakeholders. And if necessary we will also bring in amendments to the act”, he stated.

With this move, the admissions to all undergraduate for the 2014-15 academic calendar will be held as per the existing (read: previous year’s) norms.

Also See

This essentially means that the government quotas in private colleges will be filled by the Common Entrance Test (CET). A meeting will soon be held by the government for discussing the admission procedure for the next academic calendar.

It is also planning to ink a consensual deal and present it before the Supreme Court of India. “If necessary, we will approach the Union Government to bring in a uniform Act,” said the CM.

It was only last week when the government had constituted two committees led by retired Supreme Court judges after the Medical Education Minister Sharan Prakash Patil announced the government’s decision to implement from the coming academic year.

The committee was tasked with determining fees in addition to regulating the admission process.

Tags: , , , , ,


Comments are closed.